Sniper & Sharpshooter Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was on the SWFA site and saw a 6-24X50 mil-dot scope 70% off, so I ordered it it was $99.00 plus s&h. Anyone had this scope? I hope it is an alright scope, it will be on a 270 i use for hogs out to 200 yds and the other Vortex scope I have handled seemed to have really good glass.

·
Registered
440 Posts
out to 200 mark.. dont need the 24x. $99 is pretty cheap.. i'd be skeptical on the quality of the entire scope. 270 packs a fair recoil, might run into issues losing your zero on a cheap scope.
I've had no hands on experience with that brand though..

Is this the scope?
http://swfa.com/Vortex-6-24x50-Crossfire-Rifle-Scope-P43585.aspx

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Yeah that is the scope, I have shot some bol guns and one gas gun with a Vortex and I am really surprised on the quality of glass. A buddy bought some binos by ortex and in comparision to Swaroskis very is not much noticiable difference only in $$$$.

·
Registered
29 Posts
I don't know about that line of vortex, but I bought a vortex viper several months ago, and it is an excellent scope. It is just as clear as a mark4, better than a VXiii... it tracks perfectly. I ran the box test with it on my AR, and it was 100% accurate.

the only complaint I have is the eye relief isn't that great, especially at higher power.

from what I've seen, the vortex seems to be about as good as it gets for a given price point

·
Registered
1,098 Posts
ecsosniper said:
A buddy bought some binos by ortex and in comparision to Swaroskis very is not much noticiable difference only in $$$$.
Somehow, I'm highly skeptical about your claim.