Sniper & Sharpshooter Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im very new to long range shooting and to my new Remington 300 WinMag, model 700 5r 26" stainless barrel,
Most rifles it seems have a single stud under the forend of the stock for mounting a sling to.
Mine has TWO mounting studs about 2" apart.
Trying to figure out if some of the remmingtons were made this way or if it was done by the previous owner?
I'm planning on mounting a short piece of picatinny rail to it and use a rail mounted bipod

·
Registered
4,809 Posts
Its normal on Varmint and Tactical/Precision rifles. The front is for mounting the bipod and rear is for the sling. Makes life easier and also allows for what you are going to do. Order a Rail from Accushot, they are good :)

·
Registered
2,949 Posts
What bipod are you getting that you need a rail for? Harris bipods, the most common used, attach to a sling stud.

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
thanks for the info on Accushot. I'll check that out.
The bipod I have it sold by Berreta and has their own log on it.
Its only sold as an option for some of their own long guns.
I was amazed at how strong it was and substantial. It doesnt have
a swivel or that cool toggling feature but it is a rock solid contruction until I can get my hands on a Harris.

thanks gus for your help, mike

·
Registered
4,715 Posts
Why not save the money you would spend on a rail and installing it and sell the bipod you have and get a Harris like you seem to want and just attach it to the sling studs that are there?

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
That makes tons of sense. Here is one issue, Some of the other brands of BP's seem to favor a rail mounting system, So does the one I have.
What worries me about the harris mounting is the attachment to the ONE stud and not both.