Sniper & Sharpshooter Forums banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well, I think the title is clear. I am woundering (for a long time) why so few sniper rifles are silenced.
It's maybe a noobish question, but I'm new to this.

·
Registered
1,157 Posts
I would say that most sniper rifles are not silenced for one main reason: For a silencer to be most effective, the bullet velocity needs to be sub-sonic. Since most sniper targets are past a range where sub-sonic ammo works effectively, they just don't bother to use silencers.

John

·
Registered
347 Posts
I know some situations would be different. But if you, as a sniper does your job efficiently...then you wouldn't have to worry about sound because your bullet hit your target before he heard anything. (that is assuming there is one subject, and a person is indeed what you are shooting)

-Brian Shields

·
Registered
365 Posts
If I was a Scout/Sniper my #1 reason would be it adds unneeded length.

I have no idea how it would effect internal and external ballistics? Would it?

From whatI undertand silencers also are flash suppressors right? If I had to add a few inches to my rifle it would be to keep the muzzle flash down quite a bit.

·
Registered
365 Posts
dead_I_5_0 said:
...then you wouldn't have to worry about sound because your bullet hit your target before he heard anything.
-Brian Shields
That depends on the distance from the shooter to the target. "He was down before we heard the shot" indicates the shooter is close but I don't know the yards. Also depends on the rifle and maby weather conditions. I could be wrong but this is my understanding.

·
Registered
524 Posts
!

For 1 reason its one less thing to go wrong......cause we all know Murphy has it in for us.