Sniper & Sharpshooter Forums banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am looking at some info on what the best way for zeroing in my lapua would be. I am new to the long distance shooting. I bought the Savage 110 BA in 338 and topped it with the Nightforce NXS 8*32 *56.' Was looking at shooting hornady 250 match ammo. I am probably looking at shooting to about 1200 yards and just want to make sure I zero in at a correct distance to acquire my goal. Thanks for any advice as I know I am a rookie in this game. Thanks again.

·
Registered
5,239 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

100 yards is pretty standard.

However...if you are asking that question you would be better suited with a caliber that is easier and cheaper to learn on. This sport is more than just picking up a rifle and hitting things at distance...and it is not easy to learn with the recoil of a 338lm. A 6.5 CM would hit 1200 yards as well. It would also be much cheaper to shoot. It would have much less recoil, and therefore would be more conducive to learning the sport of precision shooting.

There are many many guys here with a lot of experience. These guys have learned from spending money, trying things, and figuring out what does and does not work. It would be very wise of you to ask some of the more seasoned shooters BEFORE making another purchase as their experience can save you money, time, and headache.

Reactions: Orkan

·
Registered
1,869 Posts
The long range game is played with adjustable scopes, every distance, every inclination, every wind condition requires the dials set differently.

Once you start shooting, you will have a set of dial settings for 100 yards, 200 yards, 300 yards,..... all the way out.
It does not mater what you set your zero at, as long as you know how to manipulate the dials from point blank to way out there.
100 yards is pretty standard for long range shooting, 600 yards is standard for military sniping.